Music is the Study Buddy

Now as you all know music to me is very important. I need it at all times, its almost like my blood, it gets me through the day and wakes me up for a new day, meaning I set my alarm as a music song so I can wake up in the right mood. Not only does music help me wake up and work out but it also helps me study. Studying takes a lot of concentration because you have to comprehend and apply the information you are studying. I know a bunch of people who cant study with music but I know a lot more people who need the music in order to concentrate. People need music to keep from being distracted and depending on the music you are listening to the music will help focus in on the information being comprehended.Image

With that being said, “A research team from the Stanford University School of Medicine has showed that music engages the areas of the brain involved with paying attention, making predictions and updating the event in memory. Peak brain activity occurred during a short period of silence between musical movements. The research also showed that musical techniques used by composers 200 years ago help the brain organise incoming information” (http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/studentlife/debate/2009/11_music.shtml). As you can see their are studies shown that music helps but the question remaining is what kind of music helps your study? Thats a tough question because everyone is different and there are so many genres of music to pick from when you are about to study. I personally like listening to Wiz Khalifa when I study and only certain songs. The University of Charlotte and University City recommends,”Baroque classical music is said to have mind-boosting effects. Productivity writer David Allen of “Getting Things Done” fame has said he prefers music like Vivaldi’s “Four Seasons,” Bach’s Brandenburg Concerto #3, and other Baroque tunes”(http://uncc49er.com/622/music-can-help-you-study/). I’ve never heard any of that kind of music but I bet it helps. To conclude this post I want all you people in school to find a good music genre to help you study because it is a great study buddy.

 

 

Image website:www.edudemic.com

Leave a Reply

